Ekiti State University


The Faculty presently comprises twelve departments housed in two separate buildings, the Old Faculty of Science complex (where most of the laboratories and the technical/technologists are accommodated) and the new complex, where the offices of the Dean, Heads of Department, academic staff and some laboratories are located. We have about 90 full time academic staff with 33 Professors and 3 graduate assistants. Our students comprise over 30% of the entire undergraduate population and over 25% of the graduate population. We have 15 baccalaureate, 2 Masters-level programmes (M. Sc./M. Phil) and the Doctor of Philosophy degree programme in all the departments, taught by a first-rate faculty and supported by a fine crop of non-teaching staff. A new approach in building up our academic unit is nurturing relationships with our alumni, employers, friends in the community and other important external stakeholders. We will continue to keep you informed about what’s going on in our Faculty, but we need your ideas and support. As we welcome you back on campus, please remember that the whole world is engaged in the ‘battle against COVID 19 pandemic. We remain focused ensuring academic excellence and good character. It is mandatory that we all abide with the specified COVID19 protocol, involving frequent hand washing, application of alcohol-based sanitizer, wearing of face/nose mask and social distancing (at least 2 meters apart). My doors are open and I am available to attend to you in case you need clarification on issues about the Faculty. My office is the Dean’s Office, Rm. 103 New Faculty of Science Building complex. It is my pleasure to lead the Faculty at this time. There is a lot to do, I’m energized and excited about what we have to offer and the many opportunities that await us in training our students, developing our faculty and serving the community. Thank you for your interest and support.

                                              Professor JBI ADERIYE

                                              Dean, faculty of Science