Ekiti State University

History of the Department of Geology

The Department of Geology (initially known as Geology and Geophysics Department) was established in 1983 with only two (2) members of academic staff namely; Dr. A. A. Fadipe and Mr. O. A. Adepoju, and 20 students. In 1984, Dr. B. D. Ako and Mr. A. O. Ojo came on board while Mr. A. O. Oyinloye joined the Department later in 1985 to improve the staff strength. The first set of students graduated in 1987. However, due to lack of lecturers in Geophysics and following the exit of Dr. B. D. Ako and Dr. O. A. Adepoju, the Geophysics aspect of the Department was stepped down. Geophysics was reintroduced in 2014/2015 academic session when the lecturers in the option were available.

There were five (5) laboratory staff as at December 2019 but at present we have two members of staff in Geology laboratory. They are Mr. Akinola, David O. and Ajayi, Christopher A. The laboratory houses the Petrographic machine, Stereomicroscope, Mechanical sieve shaker, Grinding/Crushing machine and some Field instruments such as the GPS (Global Positioning System), Clinometer, and hand lens among others.

Currently, the Department has 15 academic staff including 3 Professors (Professor A. O. Oyinloye, Professor A. O. Ojo and Professor O. L. Ademilua), 2 Readers (Dr. O. F. Adebayo and Dr. R. A. Obasi), 4 Senior Lecturers (Dr. S. A. Akinyemi, Dr. A. O. Talabi (current Ag. HOD), Dr. O. Olaolorun and Dr. A. O. Aturamu), 4 Lecturer I officers (Dr. O. F. Ojo, Dr. (Mrs) Y. C. Ajisafe, Mr. O. O. Akinola and Mr. H. Y. Madukwe) and 2 Lecturer II officers (Dr. L. O. Afolagboye and Mrs. P. I. Ogungbuyi).


The Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) degree programmes in Geology and Applied Geophysics are offered by the Department. Postgraduate studies are available for PGD programme in Geology (to accommodate students with deficiency at undergraduate level), degrees in Master of Science (M.Sc.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) programmes in Geology with options in Petroleum Geology, Mineral Exploration, Engineering Geology/Hydrogeology and Applied Geophysics.

The programme is aimed at effective training of geologists with the professional and         technological competence in their various areas of specialization to meet the manpower needs of Universities, civil construction and hydrogeological demands of private and public sectors of the economy. At both the undergraduate and postgraduate studies, the Department is committed to providing the best education in geosciences and indeed is poised to meet world standard in geosciences education.