Ekiti State University


The Department of Chemistry is one of the pioneer departments of the university at the inception of academic activities in 1982.

The Department provides its students with a broad-based knowledge of modern theoretical and practical Chemistry to solving problems related to environment, industry, agriculture, health, defense, mine and power, science and technology. The Department has passed through series of accreditation exercises by National Universities Commission (NUC) and awarded full accreditation.

The past Heads of the Department from onset to date are: Dr. S. Yeboah (1982-1985), Dr .O.  Amire (1986-1987), Dr. S. O. Nwankwa (1987-1991), Dr. C. O. Aboluwoye (1991-1993),  Dr. O. Olaofe (1993-1995), Dr. C. O. Aboluwoye (1995-2000), Dr. E. O. Olanipekun (2000-2001), Dr. S. S. Asaolu (2001-2003), Dr. E. I. Adeyeye (2003-2005), Dr. I. Ogunlade (2005-2007), Prof. O. Olaofe (2008-2009), Prof. E. I. Adeyeye (2009-2010), Dr. H. N. Ogungbenle (2010-2011), Prof. E.T. Akintayo (2011-2012), Dr. F. J.  Faleye (2015-2017). Prof. H. N. Oluwagbenle is the current Head of Department (2017 till date).

Presently, the Department has thirteen (13) academic staff; six (6) Professors, four (4) Senior Lecturers, two (2) Lecturer 1 and one (1) Graduate Assistant. They are:  Prof. H. N. Oluwagbenle, Prof. S.S Asaolu, Prof. E. T. Akintayo, Prof. E. I. Adeyeye, Prof. (Mrs.) I. Ogunlade, Prof. S. O. Adefemi, Dr. S. A. Olagboye, Dr. (Mrs.) O. A. Akinwumi, Dr. A. J. Adesina, Dr. O. A. Ibigbami, Dr. (Mrs.) A. M. Olatunya, Dr. O. K. Popoola and Miss S. E. Adamolekun.

The Department is endowed with highly rated and respectable professors and academic staff.