Ekiti State University

History of the Department of Zoology and Environmental Biology

Department of Zoology is one of the foundation Departments in Faculty of Science created in 1982. The Department started with twelve (12) students in 1982/1983 session and six (6) academic staff. Dr. O.M. Onagbesan (the pioneer Head of Department) headed the Department between 1982 and 1987. The Department has passed through series of accreditation exercises by the NUC and graduated students even at the doctoral level who have excelled in different sectors across the globe. The Department offers courses to students in all the Science-based departments of some faculties in the University such as Faculty of Science, Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences and Faculty of Education, Students who register for Zoology as a non-major course are provided with sound background information on animals and animal life relevant to their areas of specialization.

To remain relevant and involved in solving environmental issues affecting the world today, the name of the Department was changed from Zoology to Zoology and Environmental Biology in 2015/2016 academic session to accommodate new curriculum. The current curriculum of Zoology and Environmental Biology in Ekiti State University is designed to groom its graduates to become Competent Professionals and Consultants in fields relating to life and the environment.

Zoology laboratory with auxiliary units including museum, chemical store, instruments room, prep room, project Lab, and the main undergraduate teaching lab was established in the late eighties at the main campus. There were only two members of the Lab staff at the beginning, responsible for the management of the Lab including the students practical class work and staff research activities. Functional instruments/equipment available for both students and members of staff research work include among others: Research microscopes, electric centrifuge, pH meters, analytical balances, deep freezer, refrigerator, oven and water bath.

Presently there are five Laboratory staff: Olu-Ajayi, M.O., Adegbola, M.A., Isiaka Badmus, Ojo Isaac, Oreofe, G. and Olatunji Bunmi.

The current academic staff list includes Prof. L. K. Olofintoye, Prof. S. O. Adewole, and Prof. O. Fagbuaro. Others are Dr. J. A. Oso, Dr. Mrs. J. B. Edward, Dr. Mrs. A. A. Adewumi, Dr. Mrs. E. O. Idowu, Dr. O. T. Omotoso, Mr. R. O. Agunbiade, Dr. O. F. Olorunniyi, Mr. K. S. Ayeni, Dr. Mrs. F. A. Ola-Oladimeji and Mrs. O. A. Iwalaye.