The Faculty of Science came into existence in November 1982 when the University was established. It is one of the largest Faculties in Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti with eight (8) departments offering eleven (11) academic programmes, and an Institute of Science Laboratory Technology as at 2010. In 2016/2017 session, the former Department of Mathematical Sciences was split into the Departments of Computer Science and Statistics. Similarly, the Industrial Chemistry Department emerged as an autonomous department in August 2017. The Institute of Science Laboratory Technology also became a full-fledged department, still offering seven-degree programmes.

In the 2018/2019 session, the Faculty had a student population of 7, 631 at the undergraduate level, constituting about one third of the University population. There are now twelve academic departments viz Biochemistry, Chemistry, Computer Science, Geology, Industrial Chemistry, Mathematics, Microbiology, Science Laboratory Technology (SLT), Statistics, Physics, Plant Science and Biotechnology, Zoology and Environmental Biology with each running a Bachelor of Science (B. Sc.) degree programme and postgraduate programmes (except the SLT department). There are 266 postgraduate students comprising 23 PGD, 169 M.Sc., 5 MPhil/Ph.D., and 69 Ph.D. candidates.

The Faculty enjoyed a luxurious support on the staff development programme, with about 25 members currently on study leave within and outside the country on sponsorship either by the University or TETFund. Similarly, attendance at learned conferences and workshops was tremendously supported. More experts have been recruited into different disciplines/departments to meet the ever-expanding knowledge base of the Faculty. There has been an increase of almost 200% in the staff strength since the last decade, with 40 Senior Lecturers, 11 Readers and 33 Professors as at 2019/2020 session.

Faculty members have been recognized and elected into various administrative positions. For example, in the new millennium, Professors Mrs. O. A. Egunjobi (2002-2004; later Ag. VC: 2003-2004), O. Olaofe (2009-2011), E. Y. Aderibigbe (2012-2014), I. Ogunlade (2014-2016), O. B. Ajayi (2016-2019; Ag. VC: 2019) and recently Tedela, P. O. (2020 to date) were elected into the Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor as stated. A Professor of Industrial Chemistry, Edward Olorunsola OLANIPEKUN, was appointed in 2019 as the 8th Vice-Chancellor of the University.

There have been sixteen (16) substantive Deans elected since the inception of the Faculty of Science in 1982. The office of the Sub-Dean was instituted in 1992 for one-year renewable tenure. About fifteen sub-deans have served for either one or two years since then. The current acting Dean and acting Sub-Dean are Professor JBI ADERIYE and Dr. O. K. POPOOLA respectively.