Ekiti State University

History of the Department of Physics

The Department of Physics was established in 1982. It started temporarily from Christ’s School Ado-Ekiti with three members of staff and six students. The pioneer staff were Prof. Akin Ojo, Dr. S.A. Adjei and Mr. I.O. Ajala. However, in 1985, the Department moved to a more spacious and better furnished offices and laboratories on the Mini-campus situated along Ado-Iworoko road. From 1985, the staffing position improved remarkably through lecturers who came from Universities of Ibadan, Ife and Ilorin, either on sabbatical leave or as part-time lecturers.

Since the Department moved to the campus, there has been making tremendous growth in students’ enrolment, staffing position and research activities. Presently, there are eight (8) academic staff, including Prof. A. I. Mukolu, Dr. A. K. Aduloju, Dr. M. O. Isinkaye and Dr. E. B. Faweya. Others are Dr. E. A. Oyedele, Mr. G. E. Adesakin, Mr. A. T. Fatigun and Mr. T. O. Ewumi.

The Department has well-equipped laboratories, Information and Communication Technology (ICT) employed in training of students, graduates of international standard.